My name is Daniel Nean. I am 31 years old. My birthday is in March. I have 2 kids, a boy aged 4 and a girl aged 5. They are the light of my life. I am so grateful I got the chance to bring two beautiful children into the world.

I love all types of music, but mainly country and pop. I think this is because I was brought up with my parents listening to artists like Johnny Cash and Slim Dusty, and I always knew I would carry this tradition on.

I have been in custody now since July 2015 and am hoping to be released in July 2019 if all my appeals fail. I am currently doing an appeal to the High Court where I will be representing myself. I have been working as hard as I can to make sure I am as best prepared as I possibly can be.

This is my first time in custody and basically my first time in trouble with the law. Before coming to prison I had many different jobs, but the one I am probably most proud of is running my own business for 4 years before coming into custody. I am trying to undertake education courses while in custody so that when I am released I have the training and qualifications to secure a job.

Being a single father, I want to get out and make sure that I show my kids that no matter where you are, you can better yourself, and to never give up. Since coming into custody, I have grown a lot personally and have embraced new and exciting activities. Being a proud Aboriginal man, I have started to embrace my culture and started painting, which I now find very relaxing. Also, I now have a love for reading books; I find the fact that you can just take yourself away to another place while reading a good and relaxing thought.

I hope to get more people to chat to. I think having this for prisoners is awesome and I definitely would like to meet more people. 

Send an Email
Captcha plugin 2+ for Joomla from Outsource Online